Frilly Lizards’ Thoughts

Icon

Inspiration & Feedback on Art & Design. Please participate, share your views on any works of art or design; the artists and designers work you admire that give you inspiration in which ever form or discipline. Thanks you for taking time to read this. I’m interested to hear everyone’s opinion please share yours.

Design Detectives – Taking graphic design to a whole new level.

In ‘STEP – Inside design’ magazine there was an article on how graphic designers are in more demand to work closely with law firms in America. They are recruited to turn complex processes and information into info-graphics and animations understandable to the layperson, courts are reconising the power of visual representations to strengthen the case. Graphic designer Stacey Manela founder of  ‘The Art of Facts’, (a legal-services design company) is quoted as saying;

‘At the ad agency, I always wandered whether my work was having an effect on anybody. Now I wish I had a dollar for every juror who said, after the trial, they didn’t understand the fraud – or other criminal act – until the jury saw the time-line, animation, flow chart… It is the best professional feeling.’

At times over the last 18 months (since embarking on my graphic design degree course) I’ve given a lot of thought and consideration to the ethics in design, the relationship with the client, when (and if),  I could (or would) compromise my beliefs for financial gain – I think this would be dependant on my circumstances at the time and the particular proposed project and client. We all have boundaries but I guess you don’t really know how you’ll react until your in that situation. 

Another area which has always interested me and I feel has huge potential and fantastic scope for development is Vid-Lit (visually interpreting literature by using motion graphics, typography and animation). This area could be a great resource for dyslexics and learning differences.

Filed under: Current Reading Material & Interesting Articles I've Found

Leave a Reply

RSS Creative Review

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS V&A

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS This Hearts on Fire

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS TypeNeu

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Cool Hunting Design

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
